Skip navigation
The Australian National University

About ANU


The Vice-Chancellor is the President and chief executive officer of ANU. The Vice-Chancellor guides strategy and day-to-day leadership for the University. The Vice-Chancellor is also a member of the ANU Council.

Professor Ian Young AO

BE (Hons), MEngSc, PhD, HonFIEAust, FTSE 

Professor Ian Young AO was appointed Vice-Chancellor of ANU in March 2011.

He was previously Vice-Chancellor of Swinburne University of Technology for seven years (2003 to 2011). He was Executive Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences at the University of Adelaide from 1999 to 2003. For part of this time he simultaneously held the position of Pro Vice-Chancellor (International). In 2014 he was elected Chair of the Group of Eight (Go8) Board of Directors.

Professor Young has held the positions of Chair of Education Australia Ltd and Director of IDP Education Pty Ltd. From 2009 to 2011, he was a Member of the Australian Qualifications Framework Council.

Following a PhD at James Cook University of North Queensland, Professor Young began his academic career at the Max Planck Institut fur Meteorologie, Hamburg Germany, ultimately becoming Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of New South Wales. Professor Young's research interests are in Coastal and Ocean Engineering and Physical Oceanography. He has a distinguished academic career, having published three books and more than 100 refereed papers. He has had sustained research support from the Australian Research Council and has been a consultant to the US Navy and the offshore oil and gas industry in Australia, Asia and North America.

He has won numerous awards including: the C N Barton Medal and Lorenz G Straub Medal. In 2003 he was awarded the Centenary Medal for services to Australian Society. He is an Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Australia and a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.  In 2012 he was named an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia for  distinguished  service to tertiary education. 

Professor Ian Young

Professor Ian Young AO
Vice-Chancellor & President
T +61 2 6125 2510
F +61 2 6257 3292

Tegan Donald
Executive Assistant
T +61 2 6125 2510

Dr Liz Eedle
Executive Officer to the Vice-Chancellor
T +61 2 6125 1523

Geoffrey Parsons
Administrative Officer
T +61 2 6125 8485

Related links

Updated:  23 June 2014/Responsible Officer:  Director Marketing/Page Contact:  Webmaster