Skip navigation
The Australian National University

About ANU

University Access and Equity Committee

Related links

Chair: Professor Richard Baker, PVC (Student Experience)

Secretary: Ms Leslie McDonald, Corporate Governance and Risk Office

Terms of reference

The Committee may advise the Vice-Chancellor or the Academic Board:

  • on matters relating to the quality and standard of access and equity at the University; and
  • on matters relating to the University community; and
  • on major issues of access, equity and community relevant to the University's strategic plans and overarching policy; and
  • on any matter referred to the Committee by the Vice-Chancellor, the Chair of the Committee or a member of the University Executive with portfolio responsibility for access and equity.

The Committee, in carrying out its role is:

  • to oversee the development of the University's policies and plans in relation to access, equity and community; and
  • to advise on the coordination of the University's access and equity agenda; and
  • to monitor the University's access and equity activities.


Meeting dates and deadlines


Meeting dates Agenda deadline

Wednesday 19 March 10.00 am

Ross Hohnen Room, Chancelry 10

12 March

Wednesday 21 May 10.00 am

Ross Hohnen Room, Chancelry 10

14 May

Wednesday 6 August 11.00 am

Mills Room, Chancelry 10

30 July

Wednesday 24 Sept 10.00 am

Ross Hohnen Room, Chancelry 10

17 September 

Wednesday 26 Nov 10.00 am
Ross Hohnen Room, Chancelry 10

19 November


Current members

Category Occupant Term

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience), Chair

Professor Richard Baker

Ex officio

Deputy Chair Vacant  

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Research


Professor Jenny Corbett

Ex officio

Pro Vice-Chancellor (International and Outreach)  Dr Erik Lithander  Ex officio 
One Dean, or Associate Dean, of an ANU College appointed by the Chair Dr Royston Gustavson 7 May 2015
Dean of Students A/Professor Paula Newitt Ex officio
Director of Student Equity Mrs Tania Willis Ex officio
Director, Facilities and Services, or nominee Nominee:Ms Joanne Fitzpatrick Ex officio
Director, Human Resources, or nominee Dr Nadine White Ex officio
Director, Tjabal Indigenous Higher Education Centre Ms Anne Martin Ex officio
Registrar (Student Services) Dr Laura-Anne Bull Ex officio
Director, Residential and Campus Communities Vacant Ex officio
Manager of Diversity and Inclusion Ms Inge Saris Ex officio
One Student Services Representative nominated by the Registrar (Student Services) Ms Carolyn Farrar Two years to 6 March 2016
President of the Postgraduate and Research Students' Association (PARSA) or nominee


Ms Sarah Adlong

One year to 30 May 2015
President of the ANU Students' Association (ANUSA), or nominee Nominee:Ms Annika Humphreys One year to 30 November 2014
Director, Strategic Communications and Public Affairs, or nominee Ms Jane O'Dwyer Ex officio
One General Staff Member appointed by the Chair in consultation with the relevant staff association Dr Sage Leslie-McCarthy 7 May 2015
One Academic Staff Member from each ANU College nominated by the Dean of the College and appointed by the Chair:  

ANU CASS Dr Elisabeth Findlay Two years to 30 June 2015
ANU CAP A/Prof Fiona Yap Two years to 31 August 2014
ANU CBE Dr Alessandra Capezio Two years to 9 December 2015
ANU CECS Mr Jeremy Smith Two years to 31 August 2014
ANU CoL Mr Cameron Roles Two years to 31 August 2014
ANU CMBE Dr Graham Fordham Two years to 31 August 2014
ANU CPMS Ms Celine Dorgeville Two years to 31 August 2014
Members appointed by the Chair of the Committee:

Convenor, ANU Gender Institute Dr Fiona Jenkins Two years to 16 July 2015


Updated:  27 June 2014/Responsible Officer:  Director Marketing/Page Contact:  Webmaster